Speed Limits

Georgia Speed Limit Laws

Speed limits in Georgia are governed by the Georgia Code Title 40 – Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Chapter 6 – Uniform Rules of the Road, Article 9 – Speed Restrictions. All relevant laws and regulations regarding speeding and speed limits are found in this subchapter of Georgia laws.

How fast can you drive in Georgia, and what are legal speed limits in this state? Below we’re providing a quick overview of Georgia speed limit laws.

Georgia speed limit laws summary:

  • Urban or residential district or street: 30 MPH
  • Unpaved country roads: 35 MPH
  • Interstate with physically divided highways: 70 MPH
  • Interstate in urban area with population under 50,000: 65 MPH
  • State divided highway without full access control: 65 MPH
  • School zones: 20 MPH
  • All other roadways: 55 MPH

Always watch out for local speed limit traffic signs! Our overview of Georgia speed limits above is based on general state laws. Every municipality, county, town or road can have specific regulations and restrictions. You must always watch for traffic signs and drive according to their posted speed limits.

Absolute speed limits

In Georgia the so-called “absolute speed limit” is applied. This means that if you drive any faster than permitted, you are in violation of the law.

In addition, basic Georgia speeding law prohibits driving at a speed which can be deemed unsafe. Drivers must not drive faster than is “reasonable and prudent under the conditions and having regard for the actual and potential hazards then existing“. This means that even if a posted speed limit is 65 MPH, you can be in violation of Georgia’s basic speeding laws if you drive 65 MPH at night or during bad weather.

Minimum speed limits

Section 40-6-184(a)(1) of Georgia Code regulates the following:

No person shall drive a motor vehicle at such a slow speed as to impede the normal and reasonable movement of traffic, except when reduced speed is necessary for safe operation.

Georgia traffic laws do not make it clear what speed constitutes as impeding traffic, as simply driving slowly isn’t punishable.

Speeding Penalties

Driving over speed limit in Georgia has different penalties and fines. First time violators are typically fined between $25 and $500. Fines vary depending on how much you exceeded the speed limit, but also your past driving record.

For first time speeding offenders fines are typically:

  • 5 MPH or less: No fine.
  • 5-10 MPH: $25
  • 10-14 MPH: $100
  • 14-19 MPH: $125
  • 19-24 MPH: $150
  • 24-34 MPH: $500

Driving less than 5 mph over legal speed limit in Georgia state is typically considered within the margin of error and you should not get a traffic ticket for it. Most law enforcement officers will not pull you over for exceeding speed limits by less than 5 miles per hour, especially on non-urban areas.

Speeding less than 15 MPH over the speed limit does not result in any points against your driver’s license record. Additional surcharges or costs and driver license penalty points may also be issued for higher speeds.

Furthermore, a speeding violation in construction zones are classified as misdemeanors of high and aggravated nature. These carry a $100-$2000 fine and up to 12 months in jail, along with a one to five year driver license suspension.

All fines and penalties can increase in case you have been convicted with another speeding violation in the past. Additional traffic violations may also increase penalties.

Super Speeding

As per GA Code § 40-6-189, going over 85 MPH on any road or highway, or 75 MPH or more on two-lane road or highway carries an additional “super-speeder” fine of $200 on top of other fees. A judge may also order you to complete a defensive driving course.

Excessive speeds may get you in further legal trouble based on Street Racing Laws, Aggressive Driving or Reckless Driving Laws.

Aggressive Driving

Aggressive driving as defined by Georgia law is:

Intent to annoy, harass, molest, intimidate, injure or obstruct another person, while doing one or more of the following: overtaking and passing another vehicle; violating traffic lane markings; following too closely; violating signal, lane change, slowing or stopping laws; impeding traffic flows; reckless driving.

Reckless driving

Georgia speeding laws do not specifically define the speed at which you can be charged with reckless driving. This determination is based on circumstances. Generally, driving 30 mph over legal or posted speed limits is considered reckless driving.

First time reckless drivers may be fined up to $1000, be sentenced for up to one year in jail, and have their driver’s license suspended for 1-5 years.

In cases of injury or death the penalties can be significantly more severe. In this case it is highly advisable to contact an attorney.

Sources and references:

  1. Georgia Code Title 40 – Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Chapter 6 – Uniform Rules of the Road, Article 9 – Speed Restrictions
  2. Georgia Code Title 40 – Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Chapter 6 – Uniform Rules of the Road, Article 9 – Speed Restrictions: § 40-6-184. Impeding traffic flow; minimum speed limits; passing lane
  3. Georgia Code Title 40 – Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Chapter 6 – Uniform Rules of the Road, Article 9 – Speed Restrictions: § 40-6-189. Classification as super speeder
This article about Georgia Speed Limit Laws was last updated on October 15, 2023 at 10:44 pm. If any of our information is incomplete or outdated please let us know. Thank you!