Child Passenger Safety Laws

Georgia Child Passenger Safety Seat Laws

Every state in the US has different laws regarding child safety in vehicles. Most require you to use some sort of a child restraint system such as special seats with protective seat belts, and the position and features of such seats is often closely regulated by various laws.

Information below contains pertinent information from Georgia child passenger safety laws.

Child safety seats and child seat belt laws in Georgia:

  1. All children under 8 years old must ride in child safety seats or booster seats.
  2. Children from 8 to 17 must always be fastened with seat belts, even in back seats.

Other regulations:

  • All child safety seats must be federally approved.
  • Driver is liable for penalties for all improperly restrained persons under age of 17.
  • Children over 8 years old may be seated in front seats.
  • Children under 8 years but over 4 feet and 9 inches may wear a normal seat belt.

See also: Georgia seat belt laws (for adults).

Georgia child passenger seat belt laws sources and references:

  1. Georgia Code, Title 40: Motor Vehicles and Traffic, Chapter 8: Equipment and Inspection of Motor Vehicles, Article 1: Equipment Generally, Part 4: Safety Belts: § 40-8-76 – Safety belts required as equipment; safety restraints for children
  2. Georgia Department of Law, Consumer Protection Unit – Child Car Seats
  3. Georgia Highway Safety – Car seat recommendations for children (.pdf file)

Child safety seat recommendations

Children under 8 years of age should always be properly restrained in child safety seats or booster seats.

Georgia Governor’s Office for Highway Safety makes the following recommendations:

  • Children under 1 year should always ride in rear-facing child safety seats
  • Children 1-3 years should be in rear-facing seats as long as possible. Once they reach the height and weight limits permitted by car seat’s manufacturer your child should ride in a forward-facing car seat with a harness.
  • Children 4-7 years should be in forward-facing car seats until they outgrow it, at which point they should ride in booster seats.
  • Children 8-12 years should be seated in age, height and weight appropriate booster seats.
  • Once they turn 8 or are over 4’9″ they can be restrained in seating positions with regular seat belts, but for safety it’s recommended they still ride in back seats.

Penalties

Violating child safety belts or restraint laws in GA state is punishable by law with a $25 fine for each improperly restrained minor 8-17 years old. For children under 8 years of age the fine is $50 per violation, increasing to $100 in case it’s your second seat belt offense.

Drivers will also receive 1 point against their driving record for each improperly restrained child.

Young people or children under 18 driving in open-bed of a pickup truck are also in violation of Georgia safety seat laws, and driver may be charged with a misdemeanor.

Child passenger safety laws are very important. Make sure your passengers are always properly restrained to avoid fines, but more importantly keep them safe.

This article about Georgia Child Passenger Safety Seat Laws was last updated on August 5, 2017 at 3:07 pm. If any of our information is incomplete or outdated please let us know. Thank you!